Cook Your Own · Grow Your Own

Wild Garlic Gnocchi

Following on from the success of my last experiment with wild garlic, I was spurred on to try using it in another recipe. I really didn’t want to just use it in pesto, that would have been a little dull for me, so I found a couple of interesting looking recipes for wild garlic gnocchi of all things! Gnocchi isn’t something I have ever attempted to make for myself, but Small and I both like it.

400g of potatoes peeled
200g of plain flour
1 egg
Pinch of salt
Handful of wild garlic leaves

  1. Boil the potatoes until soft
  2. Blitz the egg with the salt and garlic leaves to make a paste
  3. Mash the potatoes into the egg and add the flour
  4. Miz well to form the gnocchi roll , heaped tablespoon onto a floured surface
  5. Cut into 1 cm pieces and roll with a fork
  6. Place on a floured tray and leave to dry for 30 minutes
  7. To cook drop into a pan of boiling salted water cook until they rise to the top.

One of the things that really appealed to me about this recipe is that in future I could well have made it entirely from my own garden. As it is the ingredients were reasonably cheap, although it would be lovely with a nice rich tomato sauce, and we just had with a little grated cheese on top. I think that the ingredients would have cost maximum 55 pence, (potatoes 30p, flour 10p, egg 15p, wild garlic Freeeeeeeeee), and easily filled the 2 of us up for lunch. And it looks so pretty served up with the wild garlic flowers.

Big winner 😀

7 thoughts on “Wild Garlic Gnocchi

Leave a Reply

