Cook Your Own · Grow Your Own · Living Tiny · Make Your Own

Change is coming…..

3239201For those of you who do not live here in the UK, we as a nation have just taken part in a referendum.

Whether to remain in or leave the European Union.

OK.  Hands up, I didn’t vote. To be honest, I didn’t feel anywhere near well enough informed to be able to make a sensible decision one way or the other so I chose to abstain. But when I woke yesterday morning to read of an ‘out’ result, the pound plummeting and threats of inflation going crazy and interesting rates soaring, I did feel a knot in my stomach. I was sure that the UK was going to overall vote to remain in the EU, as we are by nature creatures who do not like change. For me I feel it’s the uncertainty that makes me more nervous than excited. I always say to my boys that I can deal with anything, as long as I know what I am dealing with. The decision to not only leave the EU, but also the Prime Minister resigning leaves a huge amount of uncertainty about the coming days, weeks, months and years.

It has come as a timely reminder of how closely I teeter on the edge of going over the financial brink, but how I need to somehow regain a bit of control, and become a lot less reliant on the economy and more on myself. So for now, I am going to batten down the already tight hatches, and try to focus on the here and now, with one eye on the future, whatever that may hold.

Leave a Reply

