Make Your Own

Quick Fix

Its been a while again since my last blog post, but I have been busy I promise. Lots of new recipes and makes to come, but for now I thought I would share with you a very quick fix I made last week.

I am making a start on learning how to make my own clothes, as this is something that I want to be part of my new lifestyle, to be more flexible and less reliant on mainstream shops. This lovely top was a purchase from a charity shop, I am a bit of a magpie when it comes to fabrics, so this caught my eye immediately. However, in the last few weeks I seem to have either shrunk it a bit in my new washing machine (my preferred choice!!!) or I have put weight on around my arms (probably more likely, could in my dreams be muscles?!?!). So my pretty top no longer fitted nicely and was about to be returned to the charity shop for someone else to use.

Then I took a deep breath, and a stitch ripper, and took the sleeves off! Quickly whipped the raw edges into a hem on the sewing machine, and voila! One lovely new top. It does now look and feel a little too big so next job will be some darts in it to make it a nicer shape. Gosh that sounds like I remotely know what I am talking about!!! What do you think? Here are some before and after shots x

 

Leave a Reply

